How much further was God going to stretch me thin?

As the waves rhythmically hit the side of my ship rocking me to sleep, I lay in what some would call a bed feeling as though my prayers were hitting the ceiling and falling to the floor with a thud.  I remember wondering, How much further is God going to stretch me thin? and Who am I really? quickly followed by What was I made for? Nearing the end of my time in the Navy, I was also nearing the end of my rope.  Disillusioned with the church, the Christian life as it had been taught to me, and my purpose in life as I understood it, I did not think I could go on.  In a leap of faith, I resigned from the Navy wondering if God was calling me to ministry.  Not knowing what that would look like, and without a job or a plan, I left.  The fog increased since things often get worse before they get better, but then I realized that though I did not, or rather could not, see it at first, God had led me to this place and was in the process of leading the way out.  It has been a long journey thus far, but God has given me quite a few people to help along the way.  While the end of my story has not yet been written, I am currently at seminary and discerning a call into ministry.

[This was written and posted as an entry into a writing contest to win a free Kindle.  The info can be found on Mary DeMuth’s post Win a Kindle! Really!]

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “How much further was God going to stretch me thin?”

  1. Mary DeMuth Says:

    Thanks for sharing your story! I so appreciate it.

  2. Sara J. Green Says:

    My pleasure. : ) Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Thin Places Blog Tour Says:

    […] Jennifer Arrington62. Sue Williams A.K.A. Suzy Parish63. Nichole R. Wagner64. Amy Sondova65. Sara Green66. Kimberlee Mendoza67. Angela Parsley68. tracey solomon69. Tracey solomon70. Leigh France71. […]

Leave a Reply

