Moving

Photo by: erix!

Photo by: erix!

Last Friday was my last day of work.  I was very ready to be done with my job.  Not because the job was bad or anything along those lines…I was just ready to be done.  I was so ready to be done that I had a dream where I was in prison and escaped.  Unfortunately in my dream they caught me and put me back in prison.  But that’s a rabbit-hole.  I expected to be ecstatic that I was done with work.  I expected to be energized and ready to start gearing up for the move.  Suprise, suprise…I wasn’t.  In fact I was pretty bummed in general.  I was talking to my good friend 10-weed last night and I realized that what I am wrestling with is mostly fear.  Fear of the unknown.  Fear of not knowing how all the details are going to come together.  I’ve got furniture going one place, some of my stuff going with me up to NJ, and a small amount of things staying in VA.  I don’t have an address in NJ yet.  I’m not sure how it’s going to pan out with residency (NJ vs. VA; Do I have a choice since I am in school or do I have to switch to NJ because I won’t really have an address in VA anymore?).  Then there is the question of how I am going to get my stuff up to NJ.  I looked into a POD thinking that was going to be unbelievably expensive.  But since it’s just me, the alternative of driving a truck with my stuff means I would have to tow my car behind the truck.  Aside from the fact that driving a truck with a car towed behind it would be difficult, it would take longer, and it would be downright stressful.  So basically everything is up in the air and I’m trying to stay grounded but it is proving harder than I thought.  I am excited about moving on, but apprehensive as well.  The stress of trying to get there is overwhelming.  I found myself wondering, “Am I ready for this?”  But today is a better day.  And I am hopeful and optimistic that things will come together.  And that’s a good start.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

