The Eyes of Your Heart

In Ephesians 1, Paul wrote

I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe. (vv. 18-19a)

I read Ephesians 1 this morning.  I feel as though I am abiding in Christ much more lately.  The pressures of this world are still there and have increased in some respects, but they don’t seem as pressing somehow.  As I read the verses above I had a flashback.  I saw myself sitting at the kitchen table at the apartment I shared with a friend of mine during my last year of college.  It was a renovated carriage house so it was kinda shabby, but it was my first real place away from home since I lived in the dorms for my first 3 years of my time as an undergrad.  So I see myself sitting there, reading the Bible and realize that the moment I am remembering is when I read this same passage almost 6 years ago.  And I remember praying

Please enlighten the eyes of my heart, God.

And while I have not yet arrived I can definitely say that God has answered that prayer.  What a wonderful thing to realize!

Gracious God, Thank you for that memory!  Thank you for patiently teaching my heart to hope!  Thank you for the inheritance and the power that I have access to because of your redemption.    Thank you for you.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

