Energy: A Precious Resource

Energy is a hot topic lately.  Clean coal, wind power, new drilling, rising gas prices, hybrid cars…it is all over.  And yet there is a source of energy that is much more precious than any of these: te energy God gives us every day to swing our feet out of bed, put our feet on the floor and try to love God and people as we go through life attempting to answer the call God has on each of our lives.  I have not always realized this.  I used to over commit and undr cut myself for the benefit of others.  And yes, it is true that God will call us to do this sometimes.  But it should be the exception and not the rule.  It is not uncommon to hear people who attend church regularly to talk about “good stewardship.”  And yet until recently, I never would have thought about being a good steward of my energy.  After all, I can only do so much in a day/week/month/year/life.  Much of my motivation in over commitig myself was to save the world.  I was trying to be god to the people and organizations I was serving in.  But really I am only capable of so much.  I have limits.  We have limits.

During the sermon last week, my pastor said that the following is a breakdown of the amount of time the average person spends thinking about each category:

  • 40%  – Things that never happen
  • 30% – Things that happened in the past
  • 12% – What others think about about “me”
  • 10% – Health

I sat there in the pew amazed at the energy we waste on things that we can do nothing about when we could be putting that energy to use for the Kingdom.  And then I tangented to think about what my friend and mentor Ruth has said a few times about not letting people suck the energy out of us.  I think this usually happens because we worry about what others will think about us.  As in, “If I don’t participate in the Adult Ministries Pancake Breakfast, they will think I’m not committed.”  And then I starting thinking about my post on MHA.

As you can see, there are many neurons connecting on this one so this post is not put together well, but God has definitely gotten my attention about wasting energy.  I hope I can keep listening well enough to make my life reflect what I see is truth.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Energy: A Precious Resource”

  1. Ruth Says:

    Great post! Glad to see you wrestling with this one. I’d love to borrow these statistics — Feb 8 I’m preaching about energy, using Isaiah 40.

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    Thanks, Ruth! If it would be helpful I can try to find out the source my pastor used for the stats. Lemme know!

Leave a Reply

