REVGALS Friday Five: Pancakes

R Stanek

Photo by: R Stanek

For this weeks Friday Five at REVGALS, Sophia wrote

Last week Sally gave us a beautiful, spiritually reflective Friday Five, so it’s time for something light and fluffy (literally). It’s inspired by the fact that as I write this my dear spouse TechnoGuy, with the assistance of daughter Ladybug, is making a batch of chocolate chip pancakes with two Christmas presents. One is the Knott’s Berry Farm mix which came along with jam, boysenberry syrup, and biscuit mix from my aunt (we ended up with two sets, since my parents passed theirs on to avoid sweet and carb-y temptation). The other is the large size Black and Decker electric skillet he was thrilled that I got him online — our trusty wedding present normal size one still works at going on 20 years, but the Teflon is getting worn, and he wanted more cooking space. So pull up a chair to the kitchen table and tell us all about your pancake preferences.

1. Scratch or mix? Buttermilk or plain?  Well, being that I have not had the opportunty to have pancakes from scratch (that I know ofor can remember) I’d have to say that scratch is okay by me.  I wonder how wonderful “scratch” would be…  Oh yeah…it’s buttermilk all the way!

2. Pure and simple, or with additions cooked in?  As in most things, I am a purist.  I don’t like other stuff interupting my enjoyment of a thing.  (i.e., I don’t like it when the different foods on my plate touch).  Hah.

3. For breakfast or for dinner?  Well, mostly breakfast, but I am becoming more and more okay with meals escaping their “normal” time slots and moving to others just for fun.

4. Preferred syrup or other topping? How about the best side dish?  Good ol’ maple syrup.  And I LOVE when I can have sausage LINKS (not patties) to dip in the syrup too.

5. Favorite pancake restaurant? Well, I really like IHOP. 

Bonus: Any tasty recipes out there, for pancakes or other special breakfast dishes? Bring ’em on!   No recipes…sorry!

Added Bonus: When I was little, my mom used to make pancakes in the shape of mickey mouse, kitty cats, and snakes.  Much fun!

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “REVGALS Friday Five: Pancakes”

  1. Sally Says:

    I miss IHOP we used to go when we lived in Texas, no pancake places here!

  2. revcrystalk Says:

    I tagged IHOP as well! I used to think my hubby was strange for not wanting the food on his plate to touch (some items require entirely different plates) but I keep meeting others who have the same thing! It will be fun to see how many folks confess to that preference today!

    Peace

  3. Auntie Knickers Says:

    Pancakes from scratch are not that hard, you can do it!

  4. tenaciousweed Says:

    we could totally go rebel-style domestic and do pancakes from scratch for dinner some random night. many aprons at my house to share iffen u like.

    seems like an almost spiritual event to settle the things inside, letting the traditionally first meal be the last of the day. to quote The Shack, “nothing is ritual.”

  5. Sophia Says:

    Oh, those shaped pancakes sound fun. We only had those at Disneyland once but this made me remember being a kid and coloring the pancake batter with food coloring–green, IIRC.

  6. pinkhammer Says:

    Thanks for all the fun comments folks.

    TW…as you know, that is my favorite line in that book. Thank you for bringing it to mind. I am going to blog about it now. Word. And yeah, I am totally up for a rebel-style domestic do pancakes from scrath dinner.

  7. Jan Says:

    Do you make other things from scratch? Just wondering. . . .

  8. pinkhammer Says:

    I make cookies from scratch. The premade dough is good for a pinch, but I prefer home made. Chocolate chip cookies and snickerdoodles are my specialty. And I make salad dressing and granola from scratch too. The salad dressing is an old family recipe. The granola is from the friend of a friend.

  9. pinkhammer Says:

    After all this talk of pancakes I had to go to IHOP this morning. it was delicious! : )

  10. fishclamor Says:

    ten weed, can i come? we can do it chez moi and have a saturday party!

    i like my pancakes from scratch with wheat flour with peanut butter chips and banana in them. where i used to get them at the Village Deli in bloomington, they came out on a huge plate–one gigantic pancake as big as your head.

    my ruthie & i used to go there at least three days a week. the waitstaff wore t shirts that said “eat and get out” but they refilled our coffee for hours when we wanted to stay.

    ohhhh i miss grad school! great post, sara!

  11. pinkhammer Says:

    Hah! Eat and get out. I love it. : )

Leave a Reply

