6am

I was actually able to get up early this morning.  WhenI started my current job in September of 2007 I was able to do that for about 3, maybe 4, months.  It was great while it lasted.  It makes my days go much smoother when I have time alone in the morning.  It is much nicer to ease into the day instead of starting off with deadlines and details.  When things in life started getting a lot crazier, and the excitement of the newness of the job, seminary, and my call into ministry dissipated it became harder and harder to get up in the morning.  I have never been late to work, but I have definitely cut it close quite a few times.  It helps that work is 5 minutes away from my apartment! 

So today I woke up before th alarm went off and felt rested and glad to start a new day.  I didn’t quite realize the alarm was about to go off until it did because I put my alarm across the room to help me get up earlier.  That did NOT work, but it did make it impossible for me to read the clock at night (since I don’t sleep with my glasses on) which has made me less conscious of the time when I wake up in the middle of the night. 

I am reading a book by Henri Nouwen titled Life of the Beloved right now and I am enjoying it.  I just finished another book by himas well.  I really like his perspective.  He has good things to say but it’s writtenin such a way that it’s not overwhelming at 6am. 

I have a few books I would like to do book reviews for on here so we will see.  Here are some of the books I would like to include:

  • The Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne
  • Tribal Church by Carol Howard Merritt
  • The Blue Parakeet by Scot McKnight (in progress)
  • With Open Hands by Henri Nouwen
  • Life of the Beloved by Henri Nouwen (in progress)
  • Here and Now by Henri Nouwen
  • The Kruetzer Sonata and Other Short Stories by Leo Tolstoy (in progress) 
  • A compilation of short stories by Flannery O’Connor
  • Jesus Wants to Save Christians by Rob Bell (in progress)
  • A Time to Embrace by William Stacy Johnson (in progress)

I am sure there are a couple of others around that I have started but am working through (or have recently finished) but that’s good for now.  I’ve been reading Nouwen in the mornings and the short stories in the evenings.  The other books are more challenging mentally and theologically, not to mention the fact that some of them would make me want to jump out of bed and save the world in my PJs, so they are reserved for more reasonable times of the day.  Or maybe that would be better said “times of the day when I am more reasonable.”  : )

Well, I think that list will be more helpful for me as I try to write about each of them but maybe for a few of you one or two of them on there will be something to look forward to!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

