Separately together

As an introvert, I definitely need time alone.  I am realizing however, that I like to have people around.  I like to do things separately together.  It’s comforting to read in the same room as someone else.  It is nice to go to sleep knowing someone is there.  It’s nice to be able to spontaneously erupt into conversation because you read something awesome and them settle back down into silence.  Is this something others have experienced?  This strange intangible of separate togetherness?

Tags:

5 Responses to “Separately together”

  1. fishclamor Says:

    yeah, i love that! ruthie used to call me up and say, “hey girl. i feel like being alone. wanna come over?” we’d watch a movie, or i’d do my homework and she’d do whatever ruthie’s do when you’re not watching them.

    it was one of our favorite things to do together!

  2. Sara Says:

    *smile* that’s exactly what I am talking about. : )

  3. Ruth Says:

    you are describing my marriage.

  4. tenaciousweed Says:

    Ruth, I have to say that I am delightedly relieved to hear someone say that marriage can be that way:-)

  5. pinkhammer Says:

    Sounds like you found a winner with ‘D.’ : ) Tell him I say hello!

Leave a Reply

