Financially Illiterate

Truth is folks, I hate numbers.  I don’t like going through my bank statements, I hate budgeting, I despise all of it.  Yes, I still do it.  But i hate it and I don’t do it well.  With that in mind, it is easy to understand that I understand very little about economics on the national level.  Right now I wonder if anyone does.  My uncle forwarded me this video.  There is lots of seemingly good info but 1) it goes pretty fast 2) you can make a case for whatever you want to be true and 3) I have no way to ascertain whether or not it is objective.  I’d really like to understand what the hell is going on with all of this (at least have a clue) so can some of you weigh in and leave some comments to assist a fiscally ignorant twenty-something?  Thanks!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Financially Illiterate”

  1. fishclamor Says:

    pink, did not see the video, but i taught financial math a lot of times. there is one absolute truth that is especially important for twenty somethings.

    save money for your retirement EVERY MONTH. if you don’t have much, put in ten bucks. just do it. if you start in your twenties, you’ll be fine when you retire. if you start in your thirties, you’re a little late. if you start in your forties, you’re too late, but better do it.

    i never had enough money to do it. so i’ll be living out of my mom-mobile probably when i’m 80.

    but you should start now!

    sorry couldn’t watch the video bubba’s up!

    love & apologies for knowning nothing about macro eccon. but this one thing i do know!
    — fc

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    Thanks for the good advice. I started saving when I was 23 I think…I have had to take a break from it but hope to start up again soon. : )

Leave a Reply

