Screwed

So I’m screwed.  Literally.  As it turns out, this is a good thing.  The alternative was removing the piece of bone that had broken off and reattaching the ligaments to the big bone.  This can be more clearly seen in my previous post.

So the surgery went well, the hardware was installed and apparently I am much funnier than I ever would have thought.  At least the nurse I had after my surgery thought so.  I have a vague recollection of saying, “So tell me about metal detectors…” to which my nurse replied, to my chagrin, “I don’t know anything about them.”  What I was getting at in a round about way, was whether or not the screw in my “great toe” as they like to call it in the medical field, would set off metal detectors forever making airplane trips more difficult.  She did not know.  My friend Heather may have some additional witty comments to post about my transition from anesthesia to reality.  I will leave that up to her.  I am indebted to her great assistance after the surgery.  She was shanghaied into signing a paper to spend the night with me and did it willingly.  And her daughter was so sweet.  She earned the title Nurse Jayne Fuzzy Wuzzy Jr. after my Grandmere the RN.  She even was willing to part with her favorite blanket during the surgery though I had to decline her generous offer.  So Mike did a great job putting the screw in, Omalley the anesthesiologist said I was a cheap date because I didn’t require a lot of drugs, and Frank the anesthesiologist nurse was the one to give me the good drugs that knocked me out.  And it was much better than the ankle surgery.  I hated coming out of that!  What a nightmare.  Anyway, I am all set with chips and salsa, Izze, and york peppermint patties not to mention a ridiculous amount of reading and blogging time as I keep my foot up to avoid the awful throbbing pain associated with cutting ones foot open.  Thank you for all your prayers.  Here’s for a speedy (but not too speedy) recovery.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Screwed”

  1. Ben Says:

    Hey, at least you got screwed and not hosed….I imagine that would’ve hurt more.

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    lol. Very, very true my friend. : )

  3. tenaciousweed Says:

    Tonight, dumpling #2 said she’d love to see you post a picture of your healed foot. She said that it wasn’t the point that we could not see the inside healing, because it’s like the inside of us. But if you could take a picture of your outside foot, looking all together, and glowing like it’s healthy that it would be like what God does with our inside brokenness. He fixes the inside, and then the outside starts to have a healthy glow.

  4. pinkhammer Says:

    That, my friends, is a beautiful thought. I will take that photo post haste and send it your way! : )

Leave a Reply

