Dizzy Izzy & Electric Bulls

About 7 years ago, I broke my left pinky.  The story goes like this. 

Once upon a time there was a college student who played dizzy izzy with a club she was in.  The rules were 5 spins n the bat and then run 50 feet or so (I’m not good at guestimating distances).  We all did this without any mishaps and then faculty leader of the club said something along the lines of, “That wasn’t rediculous enough!  Do it again with 10 spins!”  Hmmm.  So ten spins I did and then I did one more on my way down to the grassy field.  I hyper extended my pinky, ring finger, and middle finger on the left hand.  Because of the way our bdies are designed, my pinky broke in order to prevent my tendon from snapping.  Tendons take way longer to heal so I was glad in a weird sort of way that Ibroke my pinky.  I also vowed to never play dizzy-izzy again.

Today I have added something to my “never again” list: riding electric bulls.  I rode one today and when I fell off, my leg did something a bit unnatural and my toe bent under my weight in such a way thatI broke it.  But it is n ordinary break.  Noooooo, I have to be unique in all I do.  It’s my MO.  As you can see in the photo, the tip of the bone near the joint broke off.  So whereas many toe breaks are taped together and they heal naturally, I am in a splint and on crutches and have to go see an orthopedic surgeon.  The nurse said, “I’ve never seen a break like that.”  Do I get points for originality?

I twittered about this as it was happening (i.e., in the exam room) and want to say thanks to Carol for making me laugh out loud in the patient first.  When I told her what happened she responded with, “Oh my gosh.  That’s EVEN BETTER [than dropping a hammer on it].  If you’re gonna break a bone, then you might as well do it while falling off an electric bull.”  I was kinda getting bummed out about the effect this is going to have on life so thanks fo lifting my spirits, Carol.

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Dizzy Izzy & Electric Bulls”

  1. stushie Says:

    Great story and one that you will repeat to others over the years.

    I broke my toe the night before I got married. My best man decided we would have a quiet night, so we went out to play racquet ball. I crashed into the wall and broke my toe…I refused to put anything on it and simply limped down the aisle the next day.

    The great thing about a healed broken toe – you know when its going to rain…it acts like a barometer.

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    Oh man. That’s no good! limping down the aisle?!? As for barometeres, I already have one! I broke my ankle about 6 years ago and had to have surgery last year. It aches quite a bit when the pressure changes! The broken toe is on the same foot as the broken ankle too! Sheesh. My left side is not doing so well.

  3. knittinpreacher Says:

    I was going to offer crutches advice, but I am guessing you figured it out when you broke the ankle! Prayers are with you when you go see the surgeon and after.

  4. pinkhammer Says:

    Thanks, KP. I appreciate it. It looks like I won’t have to do crutches for too much longer so that’s good. Just gotta get my hands on a walking cast boot thingie. Too bad I didn’t save the one from the ankle surgery.

  5. Alex Russell Says:

    Afterword you got coffee icecream and we came over. I guess it’s about even.

  6. pinkhammer Says:

    I think you’d have to come over every day with coffee ice cream for it to be even!!!

  7. pinkhammer Says:

    Speaking of coffee ice cream…

  8. Screwed « The Pinkhammer Says:

    […] Screwed So I’m screwed.  Literally.  As it turns out, this is a good thing.  The alternative was removing the piece of bone that had broken off and reattaching the ligaments to the big bone.  This can be more clearly seen in my previous post. […]

Leave a Reply

