Fog

The devotion I read this morning is titled The Fog of Not Knowing.  And this phrase alone would cause an increased anxiety level in many of us…including me.  After all, we live in the information age where an incalculable amount of information is at our finger tips only a few clicks away.  When we have a question we don’t usually languish in the unknown.  We clear the air through wikipedia and google.  We search dozens of Bible translations in order to find that verse we have pieces of in our brain.  We pick up the phone to call our mother on her cell phone because no matter where she is, she will be available!  This point is actually quite laughable…I have called my mother for addresses, zip codes, phone numbers…but not just ones she knows.  Since I am not part of the cult of the blackberry (though I must admit I want to be) I ask her to look stuff up online for me. 

But it would seem that God calls us to live in a fog.

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. (Heb. 11.1, NIV)

It appears that it is the natural state of being a human:

Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face.  Now I know in part; then I shall know fully,even as I am fully known. (1 Cor 13.12, NIV)

And so I am challeneged to obey His voice though I don’t understand.  To throw out the nets as they did in Luke 5 even though what Jesus is asking me to do seems to be illogical and maybe even nonsensical.  Maybe the fog is always there but sometimes I don’t see it and so I start to move forward not knowing I’m headed straight towards a cliff.

The author of the devotion ends with two questions: When have you been in a fog of not knowing?  What happened to your faith during that time?  I am humbled by my lack of faith but hopeful that the author of it isn’t through with me yet.

Photo by: Jairo BD

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Fog”

  1. Ruth Says:

    Pursuing my writing vocation keeps me in lots of fog.

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    Seems to me like you have learned some things about how to navigate it. : )

  3. stushie Says:

    Reading Pilgrim’s Progress helped me understand that Jesus is the One who reveals God to us

  4. pinkhammer Says:

    Hi Stushie : ) I have wanted to read that for a while now. I’ll have to see if I have it or not…I don’t think I do.

Leave a Reply

