I’m up!

I’m up and the coffee is made.  I’m up and ready to dig into the word.  I am up before the sun but not before the Son.  I’m up! The sun rises over the weary land, the Son rises over the weary soul.

Gracious God in Heaven, thank you for waking me up this morning.  Thank you for giving me the breath of life for one more day.  As I spend time in your word please help me see you as you really are and myself as I really am.  Only then will I be able to see where you want to move me and how you want to change me.  Amen.

I find it interesting that the dated devotional I flipped open this morning talks about writing.  She says, “For I’ve begun to wonder how long my husband and I will remain childless in this house, our evenings filled with hours of silence in which to write.  Many authors would give anything for such peace and solitude…”

The passage for the day is Psalm 139.13-18:

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 I praise you becauses I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

15My frame was not hiddeb from you
when I was made in the secret place.
When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

16 your eyes saw my unformed body.
All the days ordained for me
   were written in your book
   before one of them could be.

17 How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!
How vast is the sum of them!

18 Were I to ount them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand,
When I awake
I am still with you.

(NIV)

This passage is neat for a few reasons.  First off, it seems that it is quite possible that God has been writing about my writing since I was formed in the womb (v.16).  This is super cool to think about!  Secondly, the last verse is quite fitting in light of my post yesterday and the fact that I actually got up early today. 

When I awake,
I am still with you.

God’s love for me is quite unbelieveable to me.  I think it probably is to most if not all people at least part of the time.  But I walk around quite a bit believeing the lies that I am unloveable, undesireable, and unwanted.  But God loves me passionately not in the physical sense of course but as one devoted to his beloved.  I am my beloved’s and he is mine….. ( S of S 6.3).

If only I could think on this when I am walking around during the day.  If only I could remember his love when I am going about the day’s work.  If only I could remember and never forget.

Photo by: E
Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “I’m up!”

  1. Ruth Says:

    Good to hear you powering through this! Do you know “The artist’s way” by Julia Cameron? It describes a method of writing 3 “morning pages” every day. Whynot try that for a couple of weeks and see what youthink? It helps give clarity.

  2. Lorraine Says:

    I love that psalm. Very Presbyterian too. :)

  3. Lorraine Says:

    By the way, I also love Julia Cameron and I don’t even consider myself a writer. But her book was recommended to us at school, especially for those of us (like me) who have trouble getting started when we have something we have to write.

  4. pinkhammer Says:

    Thanks for the comments ladies. : ) I will definitely check out that book. : )

Leave a Reply

