Wide Open Spaces

In my minds eye, I often imagine myself in a wide open space.  Usually a beautiful meadow with rolling hills and wild flowers all around.  It’s peaceful.  It’s energizing.  It’s full of possibilities.  Sometimes I ride a horse through this beautiful landscape.  Sometimes I lay on my back and soak in the warmth of the sun.  I have often thought, “Maybe I’ll get to live somewhere like this one day.” 

Now to shift gears for a minute (I’ll get b ack to the rolling hills in a minute), I often feel too big for the places I find myself in. On this note I am speaking figuratively.  It’s like my dreams are too big.  My desires are too lofty.  My hopes too hopeful. 

To tie these two seemingly random thoughts together, for those of you who keep up with my blog, you will rememer a couple posts about technology recently.  I am still far from being a techno-geek but I feel as though all the doors have been thrown open in this realm.  There are so many possibilities!  10 years ago, chat rooms and Instant Messaging were big.  Now I can teleconference with people all over the world for free.  So how does this tie to my rolling hills and wild flower meadows?  I think quite possibly the internet could be my wide open space.  It is possible that the ministry God is calling me to includes the internet in a big way.  I feel as though there is room to breath.  There is room to be me.  There is enough space for us all.  The possibilities are endless.  And that my friends, is exciting.

Photo by: Tim Wilson
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

