Fasting

Right now I am chomping on some New York style pizza (which is the best kind by the way).  After that, I won’t be eating for about 14 hours.  In the grand scheme of things that’s not a lot of time, but I am sure I will have hunger pains.  So the reason this is “blog-worthy” is because I am fasting for a blood test that will help figure out if I have early signs of diabetes or thyroid problems.  My father was diagnosed with diabetes in his late 30s.  His mother has it, his uncle had it.  My mom’s father has it, my mom’s grandmother had it.  My 5 year old little cousin on my mom’s side has it.  My mother has thyroid problems.  I have had some symptoms that could be indicative of either.  Sure it possible that I am noticing them because I have grown up with diabetes, but it could also be that I will develop this incurable disease.  We will see.  I would appreciate your prayers.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Fasting”

  1. piperchick Says:

    good luck on the fast! prayers to you as well as you get tested.

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    Thanks piperchick. : ) You’ll have to tell me what your name means sometime.

  3. Ruth Says:

    Hey, I’m fasting today (Thurs) preparatory to a colonoscopy tomorrow! We are liquid-diet buddies! How cool is that? I hope your test goes well.

  4. Sara Says:

    Thanks Ruth. I hope your fast and colonoscopy goes well. I am done with my fast as they took blood this morning but I feel very strange still. I am not sure what is going on but I hope they find it. Or at least see something that leads them to do more tests.

  5. EJ Says:

    Good Luck with all of the above. I was diagnosed with low thyroid a few years ago. But I reacted quite badly to the medication to correct that problem. I hope answers will come to you and that a remedy is possible.

  6. pinkhammer Says:

    Thanks, EJ. I appreciate that. I am still feeling a bit off. I am hoping eating lunch will help. If not, I may go back in. I think part of it is psychological. I am a bit freaked out that I am feeling crumby after fasting for so short a time.

Leave a Reply

