I get to preach!

So I got an invite to preach!  I am pretty excited about it.  I’m not anxious (yet) but I am definitely asking the question “what now?”  It’s neat to think about actually getting to preach.  When I say “What now?” it is in the sense of “what do I do now?”  “Where do I start?”  “What do I have to say?”  I need to find my voice.  I am excited about finding my voice.  It makes me giddy like a school girl.  Hah.  : )  So the invite is from Ruth’s church which is also pretty neat becuase I really enjoyed my visit there. 

It is late.  I am tired.  Good night world.

Tags:

7 Responses to “I get to preach!”

  1. sarahbuildsbridges Says:

    yay! pick a text and sit with it- prayerfully. that’s where to begin. imho.

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    Yes…that seems like a good way to start. But there are so many passages to choose from! I am sure God will help me out with that part too! : )

  3. Lorraine Says:

    Well, the lectionary is the best place to start, unless you have a particular text or theme in mind. (like for example, this summer we did a series on the Marys of the New Testament, so that obviously went away from the lectionary.) — But I think preaching from the lectionary is a great discipline, because it showed me how I really can preach a sermon on any text, which I was doubtful of before I started preaching.

    For the first time I ever preached at my church I said I was going to use whatever the Hebrew bible scripture was. My friend said “ooh, what if you get one of those fire and brimstone passages?” — I said nah, what are the odds? Well… guess what I got? rofl…

    When are you preaching this sermon?

  4. Ruth Says:

    Sara, I’m so glad you said Yes to the invitation. I think the congregation will be blessed through you, and I say that with assurance because I believe in the power of the Holy Spirit. How else could we do what we do? If you have a particular text in mind, go for it. Lots of times, something rises up. THe lectionary for that day: the gospel is Matt 22 about paying taxes, there’s also Ex 33 the great passage about Moses hiding in the cleft of the rock. See what speaks to you. YOu have lots of time– probably too much.

  5. pinkhammer Says:

    Ha ha. I think you are right Ruth…I think I do have too much time. Fortunately I still have my paper to finish so I won’t be able to dwell on it too much for a few weeks. : )

    I like what you said about preaching from the lectionary, Lorraine. When you preached at your church did you go with the fire and brimstone text or did you bail out on it? : ) The date is October 19th so I have time. : )

  6. Lorraine Says:

    I preached it. But not too much fire and brimstone, since Presbyterians aren’t too big on that. :) — but of course “fire and brimstone” has a purpose in the prophets’ message. The point of the prophetic message (at least according to Walter Brueggemann) is to criticize the way things are, and then energize for the future. So I went in that direction.

  7. pinkhammer Says:

    Gotcha. : ) Sounds good to me. I’m sure i’ll be posting some info about topics, etc. on here so keep your eyes peeled! : )

Leave a Reply

