Created to serve

I had lunch with my pastor/mentor/friend ‘A’ today.  It was nice to catch up!  We had not met for quite some time (maybe two months) and while I have given her snippets here and there between my time out of town as well as hers, there was much to say!  So far in life, my greatest years were the four years I spent at the University of Florida working on my English degree.  But it wasn’t the degree that made it great, and while the community was awesome and surely contributed a TON to the fact that I can say they were the best four years of my life, I have come to realize it is much more than that.  I have come to realize that the reason I loved college so much is because I was very involved in the church.  My ministry involvement was wide.  Small group leading, home group co-leading, music ministry, president of the “club” aspect of the church I went to (so we could use campus facilities, etc.), women’s Bible study, newsletter editor….yeah…I was super involved.  And for the most part I loved it.  When I realized I had boundary issues, I started to think that all my involvement was over involvement and due to my inability to say no.  While there is some truth to this, it’s also because I love service in ministry.  I am fulfilled by it.  It is life giving for me.  It’s neat to have just another way that God has put some more flesh on who I was made to be.  I am able to see more clearly that God is calling me to serve.  Up until this point, the focus has been on the calling and on the ministry.  Cognitively the service was wrapped up in all of this, but like I said, now it has a bit more flesh.  Kinda like how the mummy comes alive and becomes more and more whole in The Mummy Returns.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Created to serve”

  1. Ruth Says:

    I just tagged you for the Presbymeme. You can find the rules etc on my blog.

Leave a Reply

