40%

I have been in Florida this weekend.  I am in the airport now and ready to get back home.  I have titled this post 40% because that is how much of my grade is hanging on the last paper I have to write for my Systematic Theology 1 paper.  I had hoped to do more reading this weekend but between visiting dad and his lady friend to heling my mom and her new husband’s wedding party for those who couldn’t attend the ceremony, surprise, suprise, I didn’t get much done.  Not to mention my new step-sister was there with her 2 year old daughter who is as cute as a button but seems to be suffering from seperation anxiety.  I am writing my paper on inclusivism vs. restrictivism.  So far I have read only the chapter on this subject from a book called Across the Spectrum by Gregory Boyd and Paul Eddy.  This is a required book for my class and it is really a helpful tool.  Each chapter has essays from each school of thought for many issues in theology today.  The subtitle is “Understanding Issues in Evangelical Theology.”  The chapters don’t go in great depth, but provide a basic understanding of the different issues. 

So back to the paper, it has to be 3,000 – 4,000 words which is probably about 12 pages.  I should have plenty of time to write this paper, but it is a bit daunting and I have started to feel a bit overwhelmed.  It is positive though because I have been cognizant of this feeling and have been able to be rationally minded about it instead of starting to freak out.  Problem is, I should have been working on/researching for/reading for this paper for a while now.  I am sure there have been times when I could have worked on it or read for it but I just got the “research” done before I left.  In fact I was in FedexKinkos until 10pm the night before I left for FL making copies of various articles by Karl Rahner (i.e., Anonymous Chrstians) to take with me to FL. 

So once I  get home I need to focus.  My laundry is done (thanks, mom!) and I have the whole afternoon to get my head on straight and come up with a game plan.  I have small group tonight and may need to grab some groceries, but that’s no biggie.  I have Tuesday and Wednesday night free and then all weekend to finish the paper.  It’s not due until next Monday.  I will definitely plan on posting some of what I write on here some time next week so wait in anxious anticipation!!!  (riiiiiight…)

I am not sure why I am finding it so hard lately to “switch gears” back and forth.  I feel like I used to be able to do that easier.  I think part of that may have been because I was in survival mode.  But oh well, it is what it is and I feel what I feel.  Now I just need to decide how to respond to it.  Alrighty then…boarding starts in 10 minutes.  I hope everyone out there in the blogosphere had  good weekend!

Photo by: lotyloty

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “40%”

  1. EJ Says:

    Hi, I’m sorry. I haven’t been around in a while. And I had to switch blogs. So, I’m just letting you know, I have a different blog, but haven’t deleted the other, yet. I just took it “off line”. My new blog is at “itsallaboutmimimimi.blogspot.com”

    -EJ

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    Hello EJ! I am so glad you stopped by! I was wondering what was going on with your blog. : ) I’ll stop by your new place and say “hi” soon! : )

Leave a Reply

