Fall 2009

Well, it looks like maybe I will get to go to seminary full time at a denominational (PC(USA)) seminary in Fall 2009.  Anyone have any thoughts on where to go?  There isn’t really anything holding me to any one specific place though I think I would like to stay on the east coast.  I was dabling with the idea of San Fran (and I ave relatives there too!) but air fare is not cheap.  I am also thinking about Princeton too…because (honestly) it’s Princeton.  I think I would really like the fact that it is, as my pastor said, the most academic of PC(USA) seminaries.  I am somewhat amazed at when the deadlines are so I need to decide where I want to apply.  I have already started working on the application for PTS. 

So where did you go to seminary?  What did you like about it?  What’s the community like?  Anyone have any advice for finacing?

Tags:

6 Responses to “Fall 2009”

  1. Ruth Says:

    wow, that’s pretty exciting! I’m glad you’re thinking full-time. I didn’t go to a Presbyterian seminary, I went to one affiliated with the UCC, in New Brighton MN (because it was handy). So I can’t be that helpful. I’ve heard good and bad about Princeton. I know that Columbia in Decatur seems to be doing some great stuff. And don’t overlook Austin. I’d say, ask around among all the clergy you know (as you’re doing here), and then see which doors open widest. Oh, and a site visit. Definitely.

  2. Bruce Reyes-Chow Says:

    While it is my duty to encourage folks to look at all seminaries, do you know what type of experience and/or exposure you would like to have? Have you taken a look at Austin or McCormick? I am an SFTS grad from way back in 95 and had a very solid theological education and experience. The Gradate Theological Union and the City of San Francisco were great perks!

  3. Lorraine Says:

    Also, what about Union in Richmond? I don’t know anything about it except that it’s Presbyterian and our former Christian Education went there and had a good experience.

    But since I’m at a Methodist seminary I’m not much help. I have had a wonderful experience there, so don’t completely rule out non-Presby ones. It’s a different set of challenges. And it does force you to be very clear about what Presbys believe and how those beliefs differ from other denominations.

  4. tracy Says:

    wow, it is looking like things are materializing for you. i don’t know anything about seminaries but from my experience i’ve learned this: it makes a world of a difference to know someone – friend/relative – in the area you are going. obviously the type of education you get is a really important part, but pairing it w/ the boost of a support system could make a world of a difference (and actually help you to finish).
    for financing – have you ever thought about becoming a maintenance supervisor to help fund the operation? :-0

  5. Ben Says:

    I’m not a seminary-ite by any means, but from what I understand, like Bruce said, do you know what you want to get out of it? I’ve heard that the seminaries have reputations. I’ve got a couple of friends up at Princeton starting their 3rd year if you want some contacts up there. I was close to Columbia and used to know people that went there, but don’t really have anyone at this point.

    Good luck with your decision. I’ll keep you in my prayers while you’re making your choices.

  6. pinkhammer Says:

    Thanks for all the comments, folks. : )

    Ruth: I am definitely planning on doing site visits. The biggest thing I am looking for is community.

    Bruce: Thanks for stopping by my blog. I was a bit suprised to see you in the comments and I appreciate your thoughts. I have just recently stepped into PC(USA) so I have a lot to learn, but what I have heard about you makes me hopeful for good things in the future. To answer your questions, I love to learn so the acamic portion is important. This is expecially true since I am considering continuing on to doctoral studies. That said, community is very important to me. I feel as though life is very fractured and autonomous and I yearn to live life with people instead of just near them. Money is an issue because I would like to go full time. I am doing part time school and full time work right now and I am having a hard time with it. I feel divided against myself. I haven’t checked out those two seminaries you mentioned but I will.

    Hi Lorraine! I have thought about union and will probably try to check it out here in the near future. If I do, I will drop you an e-mail and maybe we can grab coffee or something. : )

    Tracy: So glad you are back in the states. As for the maintenance supervisor thing…yeah…about that….let’s talk sometime soon. ; )

    Ben: I would be very happy to talk with the folks you know from Princeton. Especially if they are still there since they will have a current perspective. Shoot me an e-mail or send them my contact info! : )

Leave a Reply

