Music

Music speaks and says things I do not understand with words.  It is a mystic thing.  I think it’s one of the only ways I am comfortable feeling.  Music isn’t rational.  It just is.  I feel safe in music.  I feel as though I transcend the world.  I get goose bumps becauses of what the music says to my soul.  Music reminds me that I, that we, humanity that is, was made for much more than this place we find ourselves in.  It comforts me because it speaks to the real me that is locked up in the prison of expectations, self hate, pride, and circumstance.  It refreshes me because it reminds me that I can walk right through the bars of those prisons.  It challenges me to be me.

What I will say next may seem trite after what I just wrote, but lately the music that has been speaking to me is the soundtracks from the Pirates of the Caribbean movies.  I love those movies and a big reason why is the music.  It captures the story for me.  It captures me.  It’s provocative but not in the scndalous sense.  I think part of the reason I feel this way is because I find myself in Elizabeth Swann’s character.  I am not half as gorgeous as she is, but here’s the tie in.  In the beginning she is the Governor’s daughter which has so many expectations of her to be proper and do what she knows she should doAnd as the movies progress, she realizes that is not who she really is.  She becomes the Pirate King for pete’s sake.  And I resonate with that.  I also really like Captain Jack Sparrow.  He appears treacherous, but he isn’t. 

Now bring me that horizon…

Top Photo by: RossinoBossioB

Bottom Photo by: Disney

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Music”

  1. EJ Says:

    LOL!

    We all want Captain Jack Sparrow on the Horizon!

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    Oh, but I don’t want Jack Sparrow…I want the horizon!

  3. EJ Says:

    Perhaps that’s true.

    Me? I wouldn’t mind Jack Sparrow.

    :D

    Neither would Grundy.

  4. pinkhammer Says:

    Hah! : )

Leave a Reply

