Fear and Coping

I just had coffee with a friend of mine.  It was a good time.  I wish we were able to spend more time together but the circumstances just have not allowed it thus far.  We ended up talking about eating disorders as she battled anorexia for years and it was only after a 2 month stay at Remuda Ranch that she was able to overcome it.  It was amazing to hear her talk about her experience and I realized something that I think is very key.  Many, if not all, personality disorders and eating disorders have a foundation based on fear and our attempts to cope with the unpredictability and abiguity of life.  It’s as if each and every one of us struggles with the same thing on a foundational level but the circumstances and our ways of coping are different.  I find this helpful for a couple of reasons.  1) I am a bottom line kinda gal.  2) It’s much easier to normalize what I am struggling with (instead of stressing about it and blowing it out of proportion) when I realize it is a “human” problem instead of just a “me” problem.

Okay…that’s my thought for now.  I need to go read some more for my class.

Photo by: Nate Steiner

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

