Babies

As an only child, when I was growing up I had a big fixation with babies. I was enraptured by their cuteness! Partially due to what I had been taught about a women’s place in the church (i.e., the pew, the piano, the playpen), this lasted all the way through my undergraduate years. While I didn’t go to college for my MRS. degree, I really wanted to (and thought I would) get married young and have children young. And since I am by no means old, by young I mean early twenties which is passed and opening. Sure Mr. Wonderful could fall out of the sky at any point and ask me to be Mrs. Wonderful, but it’s looking more and more like marriage and family is something that is not going to be in the near future. And honestly, though it makes me sad to think this, I wonder if that is “in the cards” for me at all. But that aside, for those of you who have waited to have children, what’s your perspective?  (i.e., are you glad you waited?  What are the benefits of waiting?

Photo by: Me! (c)

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Babies”

  1. Ruth Says:

    I had my babies at 29 and 32. That was good timing in many ways. I ended up with very young children as I tried to launch a career. But I can’t imagine having started earlier. And I didn’t have fertility issues. I would have loved to have another one too. But they’re expensive little buggers.

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    Hah! : ) So I hear. That’s part of the reason my parents only had me (the whole expensive aspect).

Leave a Reply

