Leading vs. Bossing

In previous posts I wrote about my hesitancy to lead.  I have talked about fear to lead and feelings on inadequacy.  Recently I have come to realize that it is not leadership itself that I have “issues” with but the context of leadership.  When I have been placed in leadership very overtly and given authority very explicitly, I am very comfortable.  When it is something that starts to happen organically, it freaks me out.  Why is that I wonder?  Other than the posibility that it could be related to the fact that I was often told I was “bossy” growing up, I am not sure.  It wasn’t until high school that I received any official leadership training per say and so I think instead of learning how to refine my gifts I was told to put them away becauses they were unbecoming.  Sheesh…life is complicated.  If I was born a man I wonder if I would have been fed the same lines.

Photo by: matthewvelie

Tags:

2 Responses to “Leading vs. Bossing”

  1. more cows Than People Says:

    hmm… first of all, i’m sorry i haven’t responded to your e-mail. crazy times i’m in.

    i think i relate to this. i don’t believe i have baggage from having ever been called bossy, but i am much more comfortable leading when explicitly invited or charged to do so. otherwise i feel pushy or like i’m overstepping my bounds, even when there’s an evident vacuum in leadership. i wonder if men ever struggle with these sorts of feelings.

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    I think I read somewhere that some people are more comfortable with authority that is given based on personality type or something along those lines. I definitely know what you mean when you say you feel “pushy” or like you are “overstepping your bounds.” That is exactly what I am talking about!

Leave a Reply

