Taking in the View: Friday 5!

This week Sally took some time out to stop and walk and take in the view; her son Chris is studying in one of the most beautiful parts of the country, too often she found that they simply drove up there, only to turn around and come home! This time they took time out to take in the view. In the RevGalBlogPal Friday 5, he reflected that we need to do that more in life….
With that in mind I i will respond to this weeks Friday Five:

1. How important is the “big picture” to you, do you need a glimpse of the possibilities or are you a details person?   Yeah…I am definitely a details person.  I am a HIGH ‘J’ on the Myers-Briggs personality index.  I’m a planner and I like to be ontime and have things go according to plans.  BUT…..that’s really  boring and REALLY stressful to maintain so I’m trying to lighten up…a lot.  And God is teaching me patience in some BIG ways.  God has been giving me glimpses of things and leaving me with only that.  And on top of that, God is asking me to <i>not</i> do anything!  That said, I am also a visionary…interesting combo.

2. If the big picture is important to you how do you hold onto it in the nitty gritty details of life?  To do lists.  I have to write stuff down.  I love sticky notes.

3. Name a book, poem, psalm, piece of music that transports to to another dimension ( one….what am I thinking….)Track 20 and 21 on the ‘A Collision‘ CD (The Daid Crowder Band).  When I first started listening to this CD, these tracks made me crazy.  It starts off with David doing an interview with this guy who is a bit…off.  But the finish of the tracks is wild and incorporates music with poetry, with speaking, with transcendence.  Amazing.
4.Thinking of physical views, is there somewhere that inspires you, somewhere that you breathe more easily?  Mountains.  Definitely the mountains.  I love being in the mountains.  They are so majestic and strong and rugged and fierce and beautiful.  They speak to me.
5. A picture opportunity… post one if you can ( or a link to one!)  A picture of what, I say?  Here’s one I really like that I took at a botanical garden near me:
Tags:

Leave a Reply

