I wanna preach

So I wanna preach.  I want to speak the word.  I want to articulate the wonders of God in so much as I understand them.  But I feel ill equipped to do it.  And I don’t think my home church is going to be the place to start.  One of the disadvantages of being in a big church.  I did get an open ended invite to preach at a small Methodist church from one of the Pastors who served at my Emmaus weekend…when I think about calling him to take him up on it my fears kick in.  I know God equips those he calls, (here it comes) BUT I do not yet feel equipped.  I have just finished my first two of 30 courses for my M-Div.  I didn’t even know what homeletics was until about 6 months ago.  And yet it’s in my blood.  It’s like a fire in my bones.  I wanna preach.  Let the implied “now” be added to the end of that statement and therein lies the problem/difficulty/challenge. 

So where did you first preach?  Had you started seminary yet?  How’d you get the opportuinity?  Were you asked or did you ask?  How’d it go?  What did you learn? 

Tags:

8 Responses to “I wanna preach”

  1. pastorofdisaster Says:

    It was at a breakoff from Old Cheney Alliance Church in Lincoln, Nebraska. I was 17 years old and had returned from a trip to Hong Kong and China for a summer mission. We were meeting in the common room of a condo. I was given 10 minutes and took 30. I was terrified, but couldn’t get it out of my blood. The rest is history…

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    : ) That’s awesome. So where’d the name “Pastor of Disaster” come from?

  3. Jack Says:

    Heh, I just blogged about my first ‘sermon’ – http://livinginstereo.wordpress.com/2008/05/18/building-gods-city/

    Haven’t done any bible college or the like, just lots of reading. I asked for the opportunity. I loved preparing, but I soon realised that so much more is involved in giving a talk/sermon than just the content and being passionate about it. Truth is so important, but communicating well is equally important, as well as a genuine concern and love for the people you’re talking to. I need to work on my delivery and structure. You can’t expect too much of yourself the first time. I did, and my ego suffered. So, aside from all else, I guess the most important thing I learned is you have to have humility – I’m young, I don’t know everything, and I have a lot to learn – which I’ll only learn through practice. But God will use me no less :)

  4. pastorofdisaster Says:

    It was a joke between my best friend from Jr. til present. His father was a pastor and I always said to him that if I became a pastor I would either be the Pastor of Disaster or the Sinister minister.

  5. pinkhammer Says:

    Hah. : ) Good stuff!

  6. even Paul « The Pinkhammer Says:

    […] my post I wanna Preach, I talked about my desire to do just that and the feelings of fear and inadequacy I was feeling as […]

  7. Justin Says:

    I understand totally the fire within the bones i have the call of God on me as well to preach you just gotta get it out i would say to you ask God for direction if this be of God it will stand and if this be not of God it will fall in the meantime preach to everyone you come into contact with. Gods all about grassroots

  8. pinkhammer Says:

    Thanks Justin. : ) I actually had my frist opportunity to preach since I wrote this post and it was great. : )

Leave a Reply

