1,000 Hits & other random thoughts

I was just checking for comments on my blog and saw to my surprise that I have over 1,000 hits.  That’s significant I think.  It’s kinda crazy that so many folks have perused my thoughts.  Now only if I could say things that would spark more conversation.

I have a new laptop (yay!) and I like it a lot.  It’s a Dell Vostro 1400.  Only problem is sometimes (read more often than not) the ‘v’ key doesn’t work.  I’m not sure if it’s the way my finger hits the key or what but it’s making me a bit crazy.

I found out today that I will definitely be going to the next session meeting to present/answer questions about/etc./????? my Form One.  I am not sure what to expect but I am pretty sure it will go well.  If there is one thing the Navy prepared me for (and there are many to be sure) it’s having oral boards with people asking me all kinds of crazy questions.  Granted they were never personal in nature so that will be an interesting dynamic.

I had two run ins with the law this past week.  Well, kinda.  The first one, I was driving home from a church service/hanging out at a friends house when I see blue flashing lights in my rear view.  How craptastic (to use a phase that J has reportedly coined.  So I turn off on the next street and get my license out.  The police officer comes to my window and says, “Your headlight is out.”  And I swear I heard angels sing.  No ticket, no citation, just friendly assistance.  The second time wasn’t really with the law.  Well, at least not in the same sense.  See, what had happened was…I was at my uncles house which is a bit more in the sticks than where I am.  It’s not far away, but it’s far enough away that the nearest convienence store is “Little Earles.”  (I would link but get this, they don’t have a website!).  When I left his house, I wasn’t headed home, so I had to think about how to get from Point A to Point B.  Well, I failed.  I made a left at Albequerque (spelling?) instead of a right.  And where did I end up?  I Toll Booth with NO CASH.  Great.  And there was no place to turn around.  So I had to fill out this stupod form that I have 7 days to mail off to pay my $2 toll for a wrong turn.  Oh…and then the other $2 for the return trip through the toll so I could go the direction I should have gone to begin with.  That was one expensie wrong turn!  I mean it’s only $4, but for a wrong turn?  Sheesh!

 

 

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “1,000 Hits & other random thoughts”

  1. pinkhammer Says:

    Note the missing ‘v’ in expensive in the last part… *sigh*

  2. JustOrdinary Says:

    LOL hope that V thing gets worked out

  3. Lorraine Says:

    Well there goes my theory that we’re in the same Presbytery! lol..unless you were just visiting NM. — – I have the same problem with the “y” key on my new laptop. Turned out to be the way I was hitting the key, because a Mac has a flatter keyboard that the Dell I was using. I learned that by taking it to the Apple store and being told “there’s nothing wrong with this key..” — well, haven’t forgotten that I said I was going to email you. The final weeks of the semester have gotten to me. My last thing is due on May 9, then I’m preaching on Pentecost, then done! (well, except for ords in August, for which I’ll need to start studying soon — but I’m taking a week off after school is done so I can put some order back into my house, which is really bad right now. sigh…)

  4. pinkhammer Says:

    Nope…no recent trips to NM. I’m in VA. :) Take your time on the e-mail…and finish strong on the classes! It sounds like you are almost done with seminary so that’s cool. I am overwhelmed by the fact that I am just starting.

  5. Lorraine Says:

    Hmm…. I saw you said you “took a left at Albequerque” and I thought you meant Albequerque New Mexico! lol…. And, I have one more year of seminary. 12 credits. And 10 of them will be in the Fall (just because of the way the schedule works, which professor is teaching, etc.) — so the Spring will be like a vacation. woot!

  6. pinkhammer Says:

    Hah…okay…I was trying to be funny about Albequrque…like from the loony toons. : ) I have 84 more credits left. That said, I am really wondering if I will be able to go to school full time in the near future. One can hope.

  7. Lorraine Says:

    heehee…. a sense of humor eludes those of us who are overwhelmed with papers and exams. aaaaaaack….

  8. Ruth Says:

    It’s good to be reminded how hard seminary is. I sound really old when I say that I finished it in 1989 (I just stared into space for about 5 minutes to calculate that, no joke). I was pregnant with my second baby when I finished, got my first church when the baby was 9 months old. Sigh. 18 years of ministry, 10 fulltime and 8 parttime. Too bad I can’t somehow siphon that knowledge/experience to you. Although that’s probably also a good thing. Better to figure it out yourselves. We never live anybody else’s life, do we? Oh, and I’m in Virginia too. Northern. Just remembered why I started writing this comment — I’m writing a novel about a 28 year old clergywoman. What kinds of things should she be irritated about?

  9. pinkhammer Says:

    Wow…pregnant and finishing seminary. That’s a feat in and of itself! So is 18 years in ministry regardless of the fact that some of it was part time! I think you are right though that there are many ways in which we need to learn things ourseles. That is not lost on me because I think God has been trying to slowly wean me off of trying to go to others to figure out the “right” way to do something. As for the 28 year old clergy woman, if she is single I can tell you she is down right pissed off about how everyone puts the family above God’s family. This is not to say I don’t think that the famliy is important. I hope to have one some day and I am sure my feelings are partially due to lack of personal experience in having a family, but I know there is something to my frustration. All I’m saying is that there should be a tension between being part of the body of Christ and having a family. I often feel very left out as a single person because since I’m “just” part of the body of Christ (and not part of anyone’s earthly family) everything else takes priority. During those times of the year where the Body should be more united (Christmas, Easter, etc.) we are actually more fractured. Anyway, she would probably also be agrivated by the fact that there are ery few men who are comfortable dating/marrying a pastor or someone who feels called to be a pastor. Maybe this is something that is decreasing, but that’s arguable. And she’s probably getting pretty agravated with the common misconception that having no boundaries is viewed as “saintly.” Reverend Mother had a good post on this recently. Okay, so you probably got more than you bargained for on this comment to your comment but once I get started writing it’s hard to stop sometimes. Hopefully my crazy rants are helpful for your novel!

  10. pinkhammer Says:

    And to you Lorraine, I would say don’t worry about it…my “humor” is often lost on many. I’m just not very funny. Or rather, my humor is very dry and I am often the only one laughing. :)

  11. Lorraine Says:

    Northern Virginia here too. =))

  12. pinkhammer Says:

    So we are in the same presbytery. : ) And it looks like Ruth is too. How funny. We should try to get together some time!

  13. Ruth Says:

    I should have told you — my fictional clergywoman is married. It sounds like YOU should write that other novel, however. Let me know if you want to read a chapter. Meanwhile, I see you’re off to Walk to Emmaus — I’ll look forward to hearing about it. As for Presbytery — national capital.

Leave a Reply

