Thoughts on justice for gay and lesbian people

In a blog article of an interview with Jim Wallace by Ted Olsen of Christianity Today, he was asked:

In your book, you say the way to ensure civil rights for gay and lesbian people and equal protection under the law for same-sex couples is “civil unions from the state and even spiritual blessings for gay couples from congregations prepared to offer them.”

His response is as follows:

I believe in equal protection under the law in a democratic, pluralistic society. At Focus on the Family, I had this discussion with James Dobson’s policy people, and they basically support equal protection under the law, too. Some would debate whether civil unions are necessary for that, or whether other legal protections are adequate. And that’s a fair discussion.

I don’t think the sacrament of marriage should be changed. Some people say that Jesus didn’t talk about homosexuality, and that’s technically true. But marriage is all through the Bible, and it’s not gender-neutral.

I have never done a blessing for a same-sex couple. I’ve never been asked to do one. I’m not sure that I would. I want churches that disagree on this to have a biblical, theological conversation and to live with their differences and not spend 90 percent of their denominational time arguing about this issue when 30,000 children are dying every single day because of poverty and disease.

There are many of you out there that have dialoged on this issue quite a bit and I am very interested to hear your thoughts on this.  I am trying to figure out where the balance is between truth and grace in this issue and I just don’t have enough personal experience or information to think through this issue fully.

Tags:

One Response to “Thoughts on justice for gay and lesbian people”

  1. Ben Says:

    Personally, I’m against legislating morality. This is something that has evolved for me, as I didn’t always think this way. I would say the United States isn’t a Christian Nation, and I don’t want to portray it as such. I am more than willing to be a beacon to the world, but I don’t think our actions as a nation should be reflective of our Lord.

    I’ll agree that we should use Christian values in the running of our country, but I don’t think they should be legislated.

    On the flip side, I don’t think churches should be forced to wed people they don’t want to. If the church doesn’t want to wed homosexuals, I don’t think they should be able to be sued just because homosexual unions are allowed. My guess is any law that is written to allow this will have to protect the churches from this.

    The separation of church and state was originally written to protect the church FROM the state. People have often used this in the opposite direction. I think in the homosexuality case, it goes both ways. We must keep the church from forcing something upon the whole country, and we also must protect the church from frivolous lawsuits.

Leave a Reply

