Friday 5, baby!

1. How many times have you moved? When was the last time?
I have moved about 10 times.  The last time was in August 2007.

2. What do you love and hate about moving?
I hate realizing how much stuff I have accumulated!  I love being able to get rid of stuff.

3. Do you do it yourself or hire movers?
Most of my moves were “do-it-yourself” but this last one wasn’t! 

4. Advice for surviving and thriving during a move?
Be liberal with the stuff you get rid of.  Take the opportunity to purge. 

5. Are you in the middle of any inner moves, if not outer ones?
I have just gone through a major inner move!  Previously I lived in the state of “Legalism” (which is right next to the state of “Bondage”) where it is illegal for women to be in ministry and use their gifts to the glory of God (punishable by death of the soul).  I have since moved to the state of “Possibility” where my soul has regenerated very quickly thanks to the fresh air of equality and the wide open spaces of intellectual freedom to explore the high seas of ideas.  I took my own advice as given in number four and purged myself of the need to have the right doctrine, figure it all out, and conquer the secular word for Christ.  Upon moving into the neighborhood in “Possibility,” I went to the local Mom & Pop store and replaced those items with some humility, mystery, and celebration of diversity. 

Bonus: Share a piece of music/poetry/film/book that expresses something about what moving means to you.
Well, my lunch break is about over and nothing came to mind so I will have to pass on the bonus.

Tags:

10 Responses to “Friday 5, baby!”

  1. Mother Laura Says:

    Love your inner move–congratulations and praise God! And welcome to the Friday Five.

  2. more cows Than People Says:

    woohoo on the inner move! God’s spirit does astounding things.

  3. Shalom Says:

    Welcome to the Friday Five! And to the land of possibilties. :)

  4. LutheranChik Says:

    Congratulations on your inner move!;-) I’m sure you’ll find the accomodations much roomier, airier and all-around more well-appointed!

  5. sally Says:

    Excellent # 5. If only we could all continually do that!!!

  6. warriormare Says:

    Welcome to the Friday Five – you did GREAT! I love the story of your inner move. Brava!

    Happy Friday,
    warriormare

  7. pinkhammer Says:

    Thank you all for your great comments! Songbird was right…playing the Friday 5 is a great way to get to know people! : )

  8. tribalchurch Says:

    State of “Possibility.” I love that!

  9. Ruth Says:

    This was great. I love hearing what you purged, and what you replaced it with. Intrepid. That’s what comes to mind.

  10. pinkhammer Says:

    I have heard this word before and had a general idea of what it meant, but I decided to look it up. According to http://www.m-w.com, intrepid is defined as: “characterized by resolute fearlessness, fortitude, and endurance.”

    I am having a “moment” if you will (for details see my latest post) and I really appreciate your words. They have encouraged my heart. Thank you, Ruth.

Leave a Reply

