Obsessed

Okay…I don’t think there is any way around it.  We are obsessed with authority.  And when I say “we” I am referring to humanity.  I am reading for my exegesis paper which as I stated in an earlier post is on 1 Timothy 2:8-15.  Since a HUGE part of the debate about this passage is the use of the word authority, it is unbelieveably annoying, frustrating, maddening, frightening(!) how much the folks who say this passage says women can not teach use the word or idea of authority, authortative, position of authority, etc. when talking about the Bible, the apostle Paul, and the gift of preaching/teaching.  If the whole idea is to define or explain or exegete that very word/idea, how can you use it to define it?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?  I don’t like how we use this word.  We use it as if one who has authority has control of the rest.  Does a Pastor then have control of the congregation?  Does Paul have control of the early church?  Of Timothy?  Of Titus?  Does the Bible have control over anything?  Was it meant to control anything?  Who has control?  I daresay it is God.  The idea of control on any other level is an illusion.  This is not to say we don’t have a choice in things, we do indeed have a free will, but control?  If I choose to do something does that automatically mean it’s going to happen that way?  If I had control it would but since I don’t, it may or may not happen as I choose.  Control and power are God’s.  Free choice is mine.  Dare I claim something I have no place seeking?

I’m fired up. 

Let’s go preach the kingdom.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Obsessed”

  1. Neal Locke Says:

    Hmmmm…I’m reminded of the great line in the original Star Wars movie, where Princess Leah says to Darth Vader: “The more you tighten your grasp, the more we will slip through your fingers.”

    I think that’s a universal principal on the illusory nature of “authority.” Great post…

  2. pinkhammer Says:

    Thanks. Great quote. Spaceballs is a much better movie though. ; )

Leave a Reply

