satan uses scripture too

okay…I am going to rewind my life back about 4 years ago or so.  I had not been out of college a full year yet and was working in my first “job” as an officer in the Navy.  I was struggling with a particular area of sin and remember sitting at my desk on the ship one day reading the Bible.  I read Ephesians 4:1 which says, “As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received.”  I remember writing the verse down on an index card so I could post it and remind myself of my desire to do just that since I felt like I wasn’t doing that.  I just reread this verse for an assignment I am completing for one of my classes and I am completely amazed at how different it reads to me now.  While I did have a sincere desire to live a life worthy of the calling I received, what I was really reminding myself of, or rather letting the enemy remind me, was that I sucked.  I felt nothing but condemnation. 

When I read it just a little bit ago, the part about “the calling received” is what caught my attention.  So I ask you, if I didn’t know God’s calling for my life how could I live a life worthy of that calling?  True it could be applied more generally to the call we have as Christians, but at the moment I am thinking not. 

So reading it this time, I was encouraged!  Glory be to God I have discerned God’s call on my life in a general and yet very specific way and He is revealing to me more and more each day what it means to live a life worthy of that call.

Just goes to show you that satan definitely uses scripture too.  As if the conclusion of Jesus’ 40 day fast wasn’t a big enough clue for me…

Any thoughts on whether I am over spiritualizing this?

Tags: ,

One Response to “satan uses scripture too”

  1. pinkhammer Says:

    whoa. The word calling is HUGE in my tag box because I have used it a couple times now.

Leave a Reply

