Inquirer

So I told my pastors today that I want to apply to be an inquirer.  For those who are not familiar with the terminology of the Presbyterian church that means I am seeking to enter a covenant relationship with my church in order to futher explore the possibility of seeking ordination as a Presbyterian Minister.  I am excited about it for sure, but it is also very overwhelming.  I like the idea of being “under the care” of my session.  I feel like I need a lot of care right now.  I love my church and am so thankful that God brought me there.  We do this neat thing in our contemporary services where we pass a microphone around to ask for prayer requests and concerns and I asked for prayer as I step forward in God’s call on my life.  I have not been hiding things as I have wrestled with God on my call, but in asking for prayer, I told more people at one time than I have told all together!  I have gotten a lot of support (which is one of the ways God has confirmed this in my life) but I feel so vulnerable.  I could really use a hug.  My pastor Ralph shared a verse with me a few months ago that God used to encourage him when he was in seminary and I have really had to hang onto it. 

“He who calls you is faithful and he will do it.” – 1 Thes 5.24

I made a poster with this verse on it but I can’t figure out how to include it in this post.

I guess that’s all for now.  I have a paper to finish.

May God grant me the strength to do what he has called me to do and go where he calls me to go.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Inquirer”

  1. more cows Than People Says:

    Thanks for the comment my way. Of course I welcome any and all to read! I’m glad you found me. If you read back through my archives you’ll see that a lot of my blog as been about the process of discernment- not about entering ministry, but about leaving parish ministry to go back to school. Lately I don’t feel I’ve been offering much of substance on my blog, but you might find some helpful stuff in the archives. In any case, I’m glad you’ve appreciated what you’ve seen. And I wish you blessings in your continuing discernment. May your preparation for ministry process truly be one of care and may you feel as embraced and supported by Presbyterian brothers and sisters all the way through- even, or perhaps especially, at moments of challenge. I used to chair a c.p.m. so if you ever want to talk about the process drop me an e-mail at morecowsthanpeople at gmail dot com.

  2. 90% « The Pinkhammer Says:

    […] the task of filling out Form One (duhn duhn duhn!).  This is the form to apply as an inquirer (see my post on March 16th).  Anyone out there remember their high school GPA?  Yeah…I forgot that after filling out […]

Leave a Reply

